Cookie Usage by IdP for SP initiated auth

I’m evaluating the .NET Core 3.1 sample code for use as an IdP to initially handle a SP initiated SSO and I’ve come across this bit in Startup.cs:

services.Configure(options =>
{
// SameSiteMode.None is required to support SAML SSO.
options.MinimumSameSitePolicy = SameSiteMode.None;

// Some older browsers don’t support SameSiteMode.None.
options.OnAppendCookie = cookieContext => SameSite.CheckSameSite(cookieContext.Context, cookieContext.CookieOptions);
options.OnDeleteCookie = cookieContext => SameSite.CheckSameSite(cookieContext.Context, cookieContext.CookieOptions);
});

I’m new to core but my understanding is these options would then be accessed by the Saml2 library when creating cookies; it wouldn’t automatically apply to any other cookies created by my app?

In the knowledge base for ASP.NET, CS support said on which flows use cookies to maintain SAML state:
[quote]IdP-initiated SSO doesn’t require SAML state. However, SP-initiated SSO and SLO do.[/quote]
However, I can’t think of a reason SameSiteMode.None would be required on the IdP for SP-initiated SSO. Is it? On the initial request, all of the information is the SAML request and RelayState, there would be nothing in session yet. At that point, the library needs to store the SAML request until the user is authenticated, so I can see a cookie being used there to maintain that, but that is all local. Once authenticated, everything is sent back to the SP in the SAML request and RelayState - I haven’t seen anything in the SAML spec about cookies. Is there?

So my questions are what exactly is this SAML cookie being used for, and is the cookie code snippet from startup.cs above required because I haven’t found it mentioned in the docs yet? Thanks!